Run, run, honey run on now

marathondefin

Today is the soft start to the 16 week training schedule for the Chicago Marathon.  What does that mean?

  • I’m out running Tues, Thurs, Saturday and Sunday.  It’ll be a priority, so I will be lame and not stay out and party all night.  However, if I tell you “I can’t, I have to run.” Put me in my place and tell me to get my damned head and schedule straight.  Time. Management.
  • Back to once a week limits for drinking.  This one is not really negotiable.
  • Back to high protein, high veggies, low carbs with a once a week cheat.  And lots of feeling like the blerchy chub below.
all of the food (theOatmeal)

all of the food (theOatmeal)

I LIVE FOR CHEAT DAYS

  • I’ll be eating nonstop, which means fun recipes to make healthy food interesting!
  • I’ll be sore nonstop
  • I’ll be talking about running, even more so than usual
  • I’m probably going to need someone to kick my ass every now and again to get out of bed and hit the road

That being said, for about 2-3 weeks from June 24th when I’m going all-in, I’ll be high stress/irritability as I’m adjusting.  Then I’ll be back to the delightful ray of sunshine I usually am.  Not going to lie, I’m a little scared.  My last race was less than stellar.  More on that here.

If anyone wants to come out on my runs with me, or roll my legs, you’re more than welcome! I keep weird hours – like 10p training runs.

Here’s this week:

Tues: 4 miles easy
Thursday: 4 miles easy
Saturday: 4 miles easy
Sunday: 8 miles

Let’s be honest for a second.  Saturday and Sunday aren’t happening.  I’ll be doing fun things instead.  I’ll probably do a slow 5 or 6 miles tonight followed by a slow 5-7 tomorrow and then get back on track next week.    Follow me on runkeeper or Nike+

(by the by, Matt Innman is a damned genious for his Oatmeal comics on running.)

Leave a comment